How to recover deleted Instagram photos and videos: this is how you do it

You can now finally get back a deleted Instagram photo or video after you or someone else deleted it. Instagram also takes measures to make your account more secure against hackers. In this tip, you can learn how to recover deleted Instagram photos and videos.

This way you can retrieve an Instagram photo

Instagram has been around for years, but for some reason it missed an important setting: recovering a deleted photo or video. Do you regret throwing a specific photo or video, or your account has been hacked and all your messages disappeared? Then you were out of luck because gone was gone.How to Restore Lost or Deleted Instagram Photos and Videos

Starting this week, Instagram will happily roll out an app update that adds the ‘Recently Deleted’ feature. It allows you to recover recently deleted photos and videos. Messages with photos or videos and Reels and IGTV videos end up in a trash can after deletion, which is visible only to you. They can be repaired for thirty days. After that, Instagram will delete them permanently. Instagram Stories also end up in such a recycle bin but can only be recovered for 24 hours.

Do you want to restore a deleted photo or video to your profile? Then simply follow the steps below.

1. To your Instagram settings;

Open the Instagram app, click on your profile icon (bottom right) and then on the three dots at the top right. Choose ‘Settings’.

2. To Recently deleted;

In the list of settings, choose ‘Account’ and then search for ‘Recently deleted’. Choose this setting.

3. Retrieve photo or video.

Now choose the photo or video you want to get back. If you don’t see the photo or video in question right away, you can swipe to the other tabs. Those are for regular posts, IGTV, Reels and Stories. Click on the affected photo or video and confirm the restore. The photo is now back on your profile.

Instagram will keep hackers away better

Unfortunately, relatively many Instagram accounts are also hacked, and some hackers delete all messages from the victim. Now that the recycle bin with recently deleted photos and videos has been introduced, there is also a risk that hackers will permanently throw away all deleted messages. Or restore media deleted by you to your profile, which can also be annoying.

To counter this type of abuse, Instagram says it is taking new measures to make your account more secure. In the blog post, the company explains that you ‘must be able to prove that you are the owner of the account’ before you can permanently delete or restore a post. Details are still unclear and we have not yet been able to test the feature ourselves.

Leave a Comment