Since iOS 14, you can decide which photos an app can access when it wants to use your photo library. Developers will no longer have automatic access to the entire content and that can cause problems.
When you have restricted access to your photo library for an app, it may no longer be able to be used properly. As an example we take WhatsApp. If you have set this app to only view a limited portion of your photo library, you may be able to send certain photos or videos via the chat app. Fortunately, you can easily solve this by giving the app access to (all) photos again.
Access is limited
In the earlier versions of iOS and iPadOS, there was only an option to deny or just allow access to your photo library for an app. The moment an app was given permission to the entire library, it meant that the app had access to all photos and videos, including metadata (EXIF) stored in the photo such as GPS location.
Since iOS / iPadOS 14, an additional privacy option has been available: the ability to allow apps to access only selected images. It is a valuable addition for anyone who considers privacy and security of paramount importance. Unfortunately, it can cause some problems if you don’t set it up properly.
Give the app access to your photos
- Open Settings on your iPhone or iPad
- Navigate to ‘Privacy’
- Tap ‘Photos’
- Select the app from the list
Now choose again whether you give the application access to all your photos and videos or just a part of them. If you choose ‘Selected photos’ it is important to check which media files can be used by the app. For example, you may have to add new photos and videos regularly. That is why you will soon set ‘WhatsApp’ to have access to all photos.